The Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Section
The Science Society of Thailand Under the Patronage of His Majesty the King (BMB Thailand)
สาขาชีวเคมีและชีววิทยาโมเลกุล สมาคมวิทยาศาสตร์แห่งประเทศไทย ในพระบรมราชูปถัมภ์

History of BMB

The Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Section, originally named "The Biochmistry Section" is an academic extension of the Science Society of Thailand. It was founded in 1973 by a group of scientists and lectures from several academic institutes in this field, namely Dr. Serene Piboonniyom (Department of Biochemistry, Faculty of Science, Mahidol University), Dr. Pradit Cheawsakul (National Research Council), Dr. Sanong Unakul, MD (Faculty of Medicine, Siriraj Hospital, Mahidol University), Dr. Krisna Chutima (Faculty of Science, Kasetsart University), Dr. Kamchad Mongkolkul (Faculty of Science, Chulalongkorn University), Dr. Prachote Plengwittaya (Faculty of Pharmacy, Chulalongkorn University). The Section aims to promote growth and development of Biochemistry in Thailand, stimulate knowledge sharing and strengthen the Thai biochemical community. Dr. Serene Piboonniyom (Vimoksant) is the first Chair. The Section gains its new name as the Biochemistry and Molecular Biology or BMB in 2001. For more than 40 years, the Section has actively played its role in promoting and supporting growth and development of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology in our country. BMB has collaborated with various biochemical organizations in holding the national and international symposiums, specific meetings, seminars, workshop and specific educational events. BMB awards outstanding scientist and young scientist in this field and sponsors fellowships for young and active members to participate in national STT, BMB Conferences and also in the international FAOBMB Conference/Congress.

The Section is internationally recognized as an associated organization of Federation of Asian and Oceanian Biochemists and Molecular Biologists (FAOBMB) and an adhering body of International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (IUBMB). Several BMB Chairs have also played active roles in these international organization, namely Prof. Serene Piboonniyom (FAOB Treasurer,1977-1980), Prof Montri Chulawatanatol (FAOBMB Fellowship Chair), Prof. M.R. Jinuson Svasti (FAOBMB Treasurer, 1980-1986; President, 1990-1992), Prof Piamsook Pongsawasdi (FAOBMB Fellowship Chair, 2009-2013; Treasurer, 2014-2016).